British Comedy Guide

What are you watching on TV? Page 2,307

Quote: Billy Bunter @ 10th September 2024, 8:46 PM

Thatcher & Reagan: A Very Special Relationship on BBC4.

A reminder of when politicians on both sides of the Atlantic were proper heavyweights and respected around the World. Not the pygmies and laughing stock of today.

"Ronald Reagan? The ACTOR?!" - Doc Brown

The Siege of Sidney Street, 1960 film based - no doubt loosely - on the famous (or should I say infamous) 1911 siege, controversially attended by Home Secretary Winston Churchill.

The cast includes not only Donald Sinden & Peter Wyngarde (Jason King) but also, interestingly, Alan Simpson (as in Galton and...) and Leonard Sachs, the grandiloquent, not to say circumlocutory, chairman of The Good Old Days

Quote: Billy Bunter @ 11th September 2024, 11:34 AM

[i] circumlocutory

Thank you... I graduated in Latin in 1996 and this is the first time it's proved useful. I'm happy that my youth was not entirely wasted.

Quote: Michael Monkhouse @ 11th September 2024, 12:29 PM

Thank you... I graduated in Latin in 1996 and this is the first time it's proved useful. I'm happy that my youth was not entirely wasted.

Yes, you have no idea of the number of people that have remarked how worthless their life would have been if it wasn't for me.

Latin, ffs...
Charlie Chaplin said, 'A day without laughter is a wasted day.' And he was right. That's why I never watch Charlie f**king Chaplin.

🤣🤣🤣

Meant to post this earlier, but a couple of weeks ago the Beeb broadcast a small selection of Saturday night entertainment from the late 80s early 90s and I have to say, what the hell did I see in them the first-time round?!??

Blankety Blank with Lily Savage - awful set and "jokes"

Bob's Full House - big fan of Mr Monkhouse, but this was rubbish