British Comedy Guide

Sitcom (Com)Mission Page 31

Badge uses a very small font.

Quote: Kevin Murphy @ December 20 2009, 8:08 PM GMT

Badge uses a very small font.

...or very large paper.

Quote: bushbaby @ December 20 2009, 5:56 PM GMT

I find a bottle or two of red does it for me :D

Ribena or Vimto, or do you mean like those big bottles full of M&Ms?

...must go write.

Quote: CKY88 @ December 20 2009, 8:08 PM GMT

So Kevin you went to one of the workshops, what made you decide on a complete re-write what was wrong with your characters and plot that made you want to change them?

Tough question.

The workshop made me identify a weak character. It also gave me a reasonably good idea which were the strongest and weakest scenes. Of that I'm certain.

The other changes I'm making I'm making for other reasons.

There's a chance that the script I submit will be weaker than the original. But, as a sitcom rookie, I think the rewriting experience will have its own rewards.

Quote: CKY88 @ December 20 2009, 8:08 PM GMT

Page 2! is that including the title page? :P

On the plus side I have read it through and it comes in on exactly 15 minutes.

I just found out there may be a major problem with the script I submitted three weeks ago so I've been furiously trying to write a new idea over the weekend. Gone quite well but it's slightly too long so some sleep and objectivity over the next few days before some painful pruning - I won't rush and will probably get it off on the last day!!!

I'd be interested to know how others time their work - I'm always a little off. And I don't allow for laughs (cos I never expect them!). I find timing the hardest part, probably. Any tips?

Quote: Empty @ December 21 2009, 3:42 PM GMT

I find timing the hardest part, probably. Any tips?

Look at the time. Read the script out loud. Look at the time again. Deduct the first time from the second time. Bingo.

Quote: Kevin Murphy @ December 21 2009, 3:47 PM GMT